Unusual National Mottos

I was looking through national mottos a few weeks ago – initially with the idea of comparing how countries positioned themselves to their national record… but reading through the lists I found many so interesting and usual in their own right that I thought I would just compile some of my favourites instead. I undertake, and I achieve! (North Borneo)


Country National Motto
Belize Under the shade I flourish
Chile Through reason or by force
Azores Rather die as free men than be enslaved in peace
Luxembourg We wish to remain what we are
Scotland No-one provokes me with impunity
Bermuda Whither the fates carry us
Prussia To each his own
Seychelles The end crowns the work
India Truth alone triumphs
Isle of Man Whithersoever you throw it, it will stand
Kingdom of Sarawak While I breathe, I hope
Puerto Rico John is his name
Unusual National Mottos

Let me know what you think

