See Space, Get Perspective

It’s so easy to get bogged down in the travails of day-to-day life. One of the reasons I love science fiction is because it puts these things in perspective. Slightly closer to home (and reality), I find thinking about Astronomy and Cosmology has the same effect: reminding me how, really, my problems “don’t amount to a hill of beans”, how inconsequential I am and how whatever is bothering (or stressing) me will pass – and how the universe won’t even notice one way or the other. I find it incredibly reassuring.

It’s for this reason that I love photographs of space. Seeing incredible images of humans, and human industry, orbiting hundreds of miles above the continents and surfaces that seem so enormous to those of us down below, is truly humbling.

Of course, the other, less philosophical, reason for loving these pictures is my utter and complete admiration for these astronauts. I cannot begin to fathom what it must be like to voyage into a totally unknown, hostile environment. Where space provides consolation, these individuals provide inspiration. These are truly explorers, polymaths and luminaries. A blueprint for success; something I aspire to replicate in some small way.

These motivating interests have led me to continually scour the internet for some of the greatest images of humans in space. Below are a few of my favorites. Each reminds me of how small I am and gives me a little perspective when I am feeling blue.


space 3  9460208142_767531f719_z  9458297189_a230c387dc_z9449357355_cf90d41fd2_zspacetumblr_noo1lrWvSr1qbpxtio1_1280tumblr_nlcypfVNDT1r0gmhdo1_1280tumblr_nqvmf2GV9m1qbpxtio1_540

See Space, Get Perspective

Let me know what you think

